A New Year’s Spam on Medium

I don’t like spam!

Janaka Stagnaro

--

Photo by Hannes Johnson on Unsplash

It has been 6 days now in the New Year and 6 spam attacks I have received.

On responses I have made on stories fairly old with a load of comments, I receive the following, with variations.

It will seem that the author is responding. It will have the author’s photo but no icon. And it will show that you are not following the author. The spam will say:

Nice response!

Please, let me invite you to join our Medium writers community. Here you can connect and grow with other fellow writers from Medium.
Message the admin on t.e.l.e.g.r.am @ylwolfe1

The first one was from President Obama’s account, and I felt stoked for being personally asked by him. I clicked follow, not sure if I had not already been following. Then I got another one from another account. Same thing. Then it dawned on me.

I have reported the ones that come my way now and will mention it to the author. I tried to figure out how to contact Medium to report it and determine the official response. So if you Mediumites have anything to add to this, please do so.

It is very annoying.

It's not the best way to start off the year for authors and readers alike.

Cheers

--

--

Janaka Stagnaro

Poetry, parables, articles — spiritual, life-lessons, Waldorf education, artwork. 11 books. www.janakasartandbooks.com